Journalist Ravish Kumar Wins 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

Journalist Ravish Kumar Wins 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

Eminent journalist Ravish Kumar wins Magsaysay Award for 2019 on August 2, 2019. Ramon Magsaysay Award is the highest honour given to Asian individuals and organisations. Ravish Kumar has been awarded for “harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless”. This award is known as the Asian equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

Ravish Kumar is among the five recipients of Ramon Magsaysay Award. The award citation says that Ravish Kumar’s ‘Prime Time’ programme deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people. The award citation describes Ravish Kumar as a sober, well-informed and incisive anchor who has been highly vocal on insisting that the professional values of balanced, fact-based reporting be upheld in practice.

Winners of Magsaysay Award 2019

Apart from Ravish Kumar, the other winners of the Magsaysay Award 2019 are – Myanmar’s Ko Swe Win (Journalist), Thailand’s Angkhana Neelapajit (Human Rights Activist), Philippines’ Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab (Musician), and South Korea’s Kim Jong-Ki  (Activist working with violence and mental health issues in youth).

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in 1957 by trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund.
  • The award is also known as the Asian equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • The award is named after the 3rd president of Republic of Philippines Ramon Magsaysay.
  • Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay facing right in profile

Previous Indian Winners

Other Indian winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award are – RK Laxman, P Sainath, Arun Shourie, Kiran Bedi and Arvind Kejriwal. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal tweeted that he is delighted to see Ravish Kumar in the club of Magsaysay awardees and hope to see his brave journalism go from strength to strength in these difficult times.

Share this post