President Ram Nath Kovind confers prestigious Science and Technology awards

President Ram Nath Kovind confers prestigious Science and Technology awards

President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Science and Technology awards on the foundation day of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) on September 26, 2019. The awards were presented at a function at the Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi.

The Science and Technology awards honour individuals for their outstanding contribution in the field of science and technology. While addressing the occasion, the President said, “Science and technology is one of the key levers to achieve India’s national goals and to address the larger concerns confronting humanity. “

The President further said that India’s success in achieving a 5-trillion dollar economy by 2025, its commitment to achieve the SDGs and its wish to address global concerns such as climate change, will largely depend on finding creative solutions based on scientific research. The President also emphasized on providing equal opportunities to girl children. He stated that no success will have any meaning if there are no equal opportunities for girl children.

The President also applauded CSIR’s accomplishments and its technological interventions towards the socio-economic development of the nation.

Key Details

• The President presented the CSIR Technology Awards to CSIR teams and the GN Ramachandran Gold Medal to Prof. Amitabha Chattopadhyay of CSIR-CCMB.

• The Union Science and Technology Minister also presented the CSIR Young Scientist Awards, CSIR Innovation Award for School Children and Diamond Jubilee Technology Awards on the occasion.

• The Minister also handed over a prototype of the high-temperature fuel cell, an indigenous technology which has been developed by CSIR, to the President.

• A book with the title “Bhatnagar Laureates 1958-2018” was also released on the occasion.

• The prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards 2019 were also announced during the occasion. The awards are considered as the highest multi-disciplinary science awards in India.

Full List of winners: 

Award category Winner Achievement
G N Ramachandran Gold Medal for Excellence in Biological Sciences & Technology 2019 Prof. Amitabha Chattopadhyay of CSIR-CCMB Outstanding contribution in understanding dynamics and lipid-protein interaction in biomembranes
CSIR Diamond Jubilee Technology Award 2017 Cadila Healthcare Limited For development of ‘Saroglitazar’- India’s first indigenously discovered and developed New Chemical Entity (NCE)  and world’s first approved drug for treating diabetic dyslipidemia.
CSIR Diamond Jubilee Technology Award 2018 Carborundum Universal Limited For development of metallized alumina Ceramics like metallized alumina cylinders.
CSIR Innovation Award for School Children-2019 First prize-Anmol Rathi and Harsh Agrawal For innovation on novel technique for early detection of pancreatic cancer through spermine level in human saliva.
CSIR Technology Awards for the Year 2019
Life Sciences award CSIR-CDRI For developing ‘a novel osteoinductive molecule S-008-399 as medicated biodegradable bone implant material for fast fracture-healing’.
Innovation Category CSIR-CSMCRI and M/S Chern Process Systems Private Limited For zero waste process for recovery of potash fertiliser, water & other value added byproduct(s) from spent wash.
physical sciences CSIR-NAL and CSIR-CIMFR CSIR-NAL for carriage, handling and stroes release clearance for a fighter Aircraft Upgrade.

CSIR-CIMFR for controlled blasting techniques developed for safe extraction of minerals and construction of various civil infrastructure projects.

Business Developemnt and Technology Marketing CSIR-CIMFR
CSIR Young Scientist Awards 2019
Award Category Winner
Biological Sciences Dr Bidyut Purkait of CSIR-CDRI

Dr Lipi Thukral of CSIR-IGIB

Chemical Sciences Dr John Mondal of CSIR-IICT

Dr Sasidhar B.S. of CSIR-NIIST

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences Dr Amol Prakash of CSIR-NIO

Dr Bodhisatwa Hazra of CSIR-CIMFR

Engineering Sciences Dr Divya Agrawal of CSIR-CSIO

Dr Prabhat Ranjan Prem, CSIR-SERC

Physical Sciences Dr. Shikha of CSIR-CMERI
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards 2019
Biological Sciences Dr. Kayarat Sai Krishnan

Dr. Soumen Basak

Chemical Sciences Dr. Raghavan B Sunoj

Dr. Tapas Kumar Maji

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences Dr. Subimal Ghosh
Engineering Sciences Dr. Manik Varma
Mathematical Sciences Dr. Dishant Mayur Bhai Pancholi

Dr. Nina Gupta

Medical Sciences Dr. Dheeraj Kumar

Dr. Mohammad Javed Ali

Physical Sciences Dr. Aninda Sinha

Dr. Shankar Ghosh

Share this post